Assign, reassign or unassign invoice line items to a project with Xero’s new invoicing

Assign line items to a project when you create an invoice in Xero's new invoicing. This updates the Invoiced total for the project and adds the invoice on the project's Invoices tab.

About assigning line items

  • You can reassign a line item to another project. If the line item is associated with a task or expense, Xero uninvoices the associations on the original project. The reassigned line item appears as a project amount invoice and won’t be associated with a time entry or expense.
  • If you create an invoice from a project, Xero automatically assigns the line items to that project. But if you add additional line items to the invoice, you’ll have to manually assign them to the project.

Before you start

Add the project you want to assign line items to.

Assign an invoice line item to a project

  1. Create or open your invoice.
  2. (Optional) Add new line items to the invoice.
  3. Click in the line item you want to assign, then click Project.

    Image of a line item Project menu.

  4. Start typing the project or contact name, then select it from the menu.

    Image of typing a project name in the Project menu.

The invoice is saved automatically. The invoice reference will show in the Invoices section of the related project, and the sum of the line items assigned to the project show in the project's Invoiced amount.

Reassign an invoice line item to a different project

  1. Find and open your invoice. Use search if you know the contact's name, or invoice amount.
  2. Click in the line item you want to reassign, then click the project name.
  3. Select a new project to assign it to.

    Image of reassigning a project to a line item.

The invoice is saved automatically.

Unassign an invoice line item from a project

  1. Find and open your invoice. Use search if you know the contact's name, or invoice amount.
  2. Click in the line item you want to unassign.
  3. Click the X next to the project name.

    Image of unassigning a project from a line item.

The invoice is saved automatically.

If the item you edited is the only one assigned to the project, the entire invoice is removed from the project's Invoices section. If there are other items assigned to the project, the total invoice amount is updated in the Invoices section of the project.

You might also be interested in