Archive or delete a report pack template

Adviser report pack templates created within your practice can be archived or deleted in My Xero on the Reports tab.

Important. You currently have a choice between the existing report packs and their replacement, the new report templates. This page provides information on using the old report packs in Xero.

Try out the new report templates

To hide a report pack from your organisations without archiving it, you can also save it as draft.
Save template as draft or ready to use

On this page:

Archive a report pack template

You can archive any report pack templates created in your practice which you don't need, including Xero's report pack, Annual Report NZ Differential.

An archived report pack won't be visible on the Report Templates screen within any organisations in your practice. Any report packs that were saved as ready to use will also be removed from the Report Templates menu in your practice's Xero organisations.

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Select Reports.

  3. Click View old templates.

  4. On any tab, simply check the box next to the report pack you wish to archive.

  5. Click the Archive button.

  6. Confirm by clicking OK.

Archiving a report pack removes it from the All tab, the Ready to Use and Draft tabs, and adds it to the Archive tab.

Restore an archived report pack template

You can restore archived report pack templates from the Archive tab. Simply tick the box next to the report pack you wish to restore, click the Restore button, and OK to confirm.

Restored report pack templates will return to the Draft tab, even if they were previously saved as ready to use.

Delete a report pack template

Deleting a report pack template means removing that template option for all Adviser user roles and all organisations in your practice.

You can delete any report pack except Xero's default report pack, Annual Report NZ Differential, which can only be archived.

Deleting permanently removes the template from the Reports tab in My Xero for all users in your practice with the Adviser user role. If the template was previously saved as ready to use, it will also be removed from all organisations in your practice.

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Select Reports.

  3. Click View Old Packs.

  4. Open the report pack template you want to delete.

  5. Click the Delete button. This brings up a confirmation pop-up.

  6. If this template is in use, the pop-up will tell you which organisations in your practice are using it.

    • If you decide not to delete the report pack, click Cancel. You can archive it instead.
    • If you decide to go ahead and delete, click Delete to confirm.

Your report pack template will be permanently removed from your practice. However, any report packs that have already been created using the deleted template won't change. You can still publish any draft report packs that were made using the deleted template.

If you don't want to permanently remove a report pack template, you can archive it instead.
Archive a report pack template