Client relationships

Keep track of the people you deal with when you work with a client.

How it works

  • Add a new contact or link to an existing one.
  • Contacts can be linked to more than one client.
  • You can only have one primary contact for a client. A yellow star on the contact card identifies the primary contact.
  • Removing a contact from a client doesn't delete the contact, even if they're not linked to any other client.

Create a new contact

  1. Go to Clients, and select your client from the list.

  2. Select the Relationships tab and click Add a contact.

  3. Click Create new contact and enter the details for the new contact.

    Image showing the screen for entering the details for a new client contact in Xero HQ

  4. (Optional) Select the checkbox to make the new contact the primary contact for the client.
  5. At a minimum, you must enter the contact's first name and a valid email address.
  6. Click Create.

Link to an existing contact

  1. Go to Clients, and select your client from the list.

  2. Select the Relationships tab and click Add a contact.

  3. Begin typing the contact's name or email, then select the contact from the list.

    Image showing the screen for adding a contact to a client in Xero HQ

  4. The list of contacts includes any existing clients with a Business structure of Individual or Sole Trader.

Edit a contact's details

  1. Go to Clients, and select your client from the list.
  2. Select the Relationships tab and find the contact you want to edit, then either:
    • Click the contact's name, then click Edit contact details.

      Image showing the contact details tile in Xero HQ

    • Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon, then select Edit contact details.

  3. Enter the new details for the contact.
  4. Click Save.

Remove a contact

  1. Go to Clients, and select your client from the list.
  2. Select the Relationships tab and find the contact you want to remove.
  3. Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon, then select Remove this contact.
Removing a contact removes the association between the client and the contact. The contact can still be added to other clients or re-added to this client at any time.

You might also be interested in