Default tax rates in Xero

The most commonly used tax rates are already set up in Xero. You can edit most of them, and add your own custom rates.

See your default tax rates by going to the Settings menu and selecting General Settings. Under the Organisation heading, click Tax Rates.

About default tax rates

Default tax rates

You can choose from two tax rate options. Select basic or advanced tax rates using the option in the Tax Rates screen. The option you have by default depends on when you started using Xero.

Basic tax rates - Uses the following rates:

NameTax Rate
BAS Excluded0%
GST Free Expenses0%
GST Free Income0%
GST on Expenses10%
GST on Imports0%
GST on Income10%

Advanced tax rates - Uses the rates above and these additional rates:

NameTax Rate
GST Free Capital0%
GST Free Exports0%
GST on Capital10%
GST on Capital Imports0%
Input Taxed0%

You might also be interested in