Set up and manage your clients in Xero HQ

Create a client, either manually or by importing from Xero Practice Manager. You can then connect your client to Xero. You can also update your client's details, or archive a client that's no longer active.

Create a client

If you are using Xero Practice Manager, you can save time and import your existing clients. However, we recommend that you review these tips before you begin.

To create a new client:

  1. Go to Clients and click New Client.
  2. Select the Business Structure for the client and then enter:
    • Name for a Company, Partnership, or Trust client
    • First name and Last name for a Sole Trader or Individual client
  3. (Optional) Enter the Email and Phone.
  4. Click Create.
  5. (Optional) After the client is created, Xero HQ displays a notification at the bottom left of the screen for a few seconds. Click Add details to add more details for the client, such as their logo, website, or address.

Archive a client

You can archive any client that isn't connected to Xero.

  1. Go to Clients and select the client you want to archive.
  2. Click the overflow menu icon Xero HQ overflow menu icon and select Archive.
Archive clients are not removed permanently. Instead, they are move to the Archive group and can be restored.

Restore a client

You can restore an archived client at any time.

  1. Go to Clientsand select the Archive group.
  2. Select the client you want to restore and click Restore.
Restored clients are added back to any groups they may have belonged to at the time they were archived, provided that the group still exists.

Connect a client to Xero

  1. Go to Clients and select the client you want to connect to Xero.
  2. Click the overflow menu icon Xero HQ overflow menu icon and select Connect to Xero.
  3. Set up a Xero organization for your client.

You might also be interested in