Set up and manage queries

Set up a query for a client or change the query details. Delete unsent queries and close completed ones. Copy a query to use it with another client.

Create a query

Enter the general details of a query.

  1. Go to Ask and click Create query.
  2. In the Client field, select a client from the client list.
  3. (Optional) Enter a query name.
  4. (Optional) Select a financial period or a due date.
  5. Click Create.

Ask creates the query with one blank question and an untitled section. Enter the details for these before adding more.

Edit a query

You can edit a query to change the query details, or to add, change, delete, or reorder questions and sections. You can only edit a query before it has been sent or after it has been submitted by your client.

Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon and select one of the following:

  • Edit query details - Change the query details, then click Save.
  • Add or edit questions - Add new questions or make changes to the answered questions in a query that's been submitted but not completed.
  • Add questions - Add new questions to a query that's been submitted and completed.

If you haven’t sent a query to a client previously, Ask shows a Draft tag on the entry in the query list and the query appears in the Draft group. If the query is still in draft, you can make changes to the sections and questions at any time.

Delete a draft query

To delete a query before you’ve sent it to a client:

  1. Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon at the top of the query and select Delete query.
  2. Click Delete to confirm.
You can’t delete a sent query. Close the query instead.

Close a sent query

If a query is complete or you don’t want your client to answer any of the remaining questions, you can close the query. Ask moves the query to the Closed group, and your client is no longer able to add or change their answers.

To close a query:

  1. Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon and select Close query.
  2. Click Close to confirm.
You can’t close a draft query. Delete the query instead.

Reopen a closed query

To reopen a query in the Closed group, click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon and select Reopen query.

Copy a query

To copy a query to use it for another client:

  1. Click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon and select Copy query.
  2. In the Client field, select a client from the client list.
  3. (Optional) Enter a new name for the query.
  4. (Optional) Select a financial period and a due date.
  5. Click Copy query.

Ask creates a copy of the query with the same questions and sections. You can make changes to the questions and sections before sending the query to your client contact.

You might also be interested in