Payroll Admin access

Give Payroll Admin permission to an employee so they can manage employees' details, payroll settings, run pay runs and access reports.

Who can give someone Payroll Admin permission?

If you’re the subscriber of your Xero organization, you can give and remove Payroll Admin access for any employees. You can also do this if you have the Payroll Admin and Manage Users permissions in Xero.

Users with only Manage Users permission can delete a user who has Payroll Admin access, but can't add or remove the Payroll Admin role.

Settings user role comparison

Who can you give Payroll Admin permission to?

You can give Payroll Admin access to someone who:

  • Already has the Standard or Advisor user role
  • Has been invited into your payroll as an employee

Give Payroll Admin permission to an existing user

  1. Go to Settings, then click General Settings.
  2. Click Users, then click the user's name. Their existing role and permissions are shown.
  3. If you want to give only Payroll Admin access, select the None role.

    This role is only available for users who are not the subscriber.

  4. Select the Payroll Admin checkbox.

    Selecting Payroll Admin tick box for a 'None' user.

  5. Click Save.

Give just Payroll Admin permission to a new user

  1. Go to Settings, then click General Settings.
  2. Click Users, then click Invite a User.
  3. Select the None role. This role is only available for users who aren't the subscriber.
  4. Select the Payroll Admin checkbox.
  5. Click Continue and finish inviting them to your Xero organization.

Remove Payroll Admin permission

If you clear the Payroll Admin checkbox, the user can view some payroll totals in reports or Accounts Payable (if their role allows it), but they can't access any payroll information or functions.

If you clear the Payroll Admin checkbox for all users, any existing payroll data such as payroll reports are kept, but no users in the organization can view them. If you reinstate Payroll Admin access for a user, they'll be able to see the old payroll data again.