Change a user's role or permissions

If you have Manage Users access, you can change the role and permissions for any user for your Xero organization. You'll need Payroll Admin permission if you want give Payroll Admin permission to another user. The only role that can't be changed in this screen is your organization's subscriber.

  1. Go to Settings, then click General Settings.
  2. Click Users.
  3. Click on a user.

    Payroll Employee shows in list of users. Click to edit.

  4. Select a user role.

    Image showing the user screen where you can select a new role and/or permission for a user.

  5. If you want to give the user extra permission, select the checkbox next to the relevant permission type.
  6. Click Save.