Rename, delete, or restore tracking categories

Here's how to rename, delete, and restore tracking categories or options in Xero. You can delete a category or option if you haven't used it yet. If the category or option has been used, it'll be archived and can be restored later.

About updating a tracking category or option

  • Renaming a tracking category or option updates all transactions and reports with the new name.
  • Archived tracking categories or options will remain on existing transactions, and in reports but aren't available to select for future transactions.
  • If you archive a tracking category, tracking will be removed from any transactions that previously used any of the related tracking options. Xero will archive any options you've used from that category, or delete options you haven't used.
  • You can have a maximum of 4 categories, including no more than 2 active (unarchived) categories.

Rename a tracking category or option

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Select Tracking.
  3. Click Rename next to the tracking category or option.
  4. Enter the new name.
  5. Click Rename.

Delete a tracking category or option

You can't delete a tracking category or option if they have been used on transactions, including purchase orders with approved and billed status, and quotes with accepted or invoiced status. Categories and options will be archived instead.

The same applies with tracking options you've used on a registered fixed asset after you've run depreciation, sold or disposed of it.

To delete a tracking category or option:

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Select Tracking.
  3. Next to the category or option you want to delete, click the x.

    Image showing archive button.

  4. Click OK.

Archive a tracking category or option

Follow the same steps to archive as you use to delete a tracking category or option.

If you've used the tracking category or option somewhere, Xero will automatically archive it instead.

Image showing tracking option delete alert message.

Xero moves archived tracking categories or options to the Archived tab.

Restore an archived tracking category or option

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Select Tracking.
  3. Select the Archived tab.
  4. Next to the category or option you wish to restore, click Restore.

    Image showing selecting option to restore.

  5. Choose whether to restore a single option or all options from that category. Click Restore.

    Image showing options to restore all options.

If you restore a tracking option which used to be the default tracking option for a contact, Xero will make it the default for that contact again. This only applies if you haven't selected another default tracking option for that contact in the meantime.