Set and work with lock dates

If you have the Advisor user role, you can set a lock date to stop changes being made to transactions during a past period. After you set a lock date, users can't add or edit transactions in Xero if the transaction date is earlier than the lock date. You'd typically set a lock date when your financial records are being prepared for the year, or at the end of a sales tax period. You can change and remove the lock date at any time.

Set lock date

  1. Go to Settings, then General Settings.
  2. Under Organization click Financial Settings.
  3. Under Lock Dates, enter the date you want to lock your organization's accounts.

    You have a choice to set lock dates for all user roles, or all user roles except the Advisor user role.

    Image showing lock date in Financial Settings screen.

Transactions users can continue to create during a locked period

When you've set a lock date, users can still do the following:

  • Create draft invoices, bills and expense claims.
  • Submit invoices, bills and expense claims for approval.
  • Save draft manual journals.