Delete a report template

You can delete any report template created in your practice, or created by Xero. Deleting the template permanently removes that template option for all Advisor user roles and all organizations in your practice.

If you want to remove the template from your clients' organizations without deleting it, you can archive the template instead. Archived templates can be restored.

Report templates are now located in Xero HQ, you can still access them via the Reports tab in either My Xero Partner Edition or Xero HQ. For more details about Xero HQ and how to switch from Xero HQ to My Xero Partner Edition see Frequently asked questions about Xero HQ.

About deleting report templates

  • Your report template will be permanently removed from your practice. However, any reports you created for clients using the deleted template won't change.
  • If a customized report in the template isn't used in any other templates, Xero deletes that customized report.
  • You can still publish draft reports created with the deleted template.

Delete a template

  1. In the header, click the list icon Image showing the List icon..
  2. If you have opted into Xero HQ, select Xero HQ. Otherwise select My Xero.
  3. Go to Reports.
  4. Hover over the line for the template and click the arrow which appears on the right.

    Image showing report name with hover arrow.

  5. Select Delete.
If you realize immediately that you didn't mean to delete the template, you can click Undo to restore it. This option is available for a few seconds.