Close or re-open a project

Close a project once you've completed it, or if it's no longer needed. You can reopen it if you want to make any changes, or continue working on the project.

You can only activate Xero Projects through your accountant or bookkeeper. If you need an advisor, see our Xero advisor directory (xero.com).

About closed projects

  • When you close a project it no longer shows on your list of in progress projects.
  • You can't assign or reassign a billable expense to a closed project.
  • You can add time or expenses to a closed project.
  • You can create an invoice from a closed project.

Close a project

  1. In the Projects menu, select All projects.
  2. Click In progress.
  3. Find your project in the list, then either:
    • Click the menu icon Image of menu icon. on the row of the project you want to delete, then select Close project.
    • Open the project you want to close, click the Settings icon, then select Close.

Re-open a closed project

  1. In the Projects menu, select All projects.
  2. Select Closed from the Project list dropdown.
  3. Find your project in the list, then either:
    • Click the menu icon Image of menu icon. on the row of the project you want to re-open, then select Re-open project.
    • Open the project you want to re-open, click the Settings icon Projects setting icon, then select Re-open project.

You might also be interested in