Adjust work locations and your tax filing address

Change your organization's primary work location or tax filing location. You can also mark a work location as inactive or delete it.

How it works

  • Xero sets your primary location and filing location by default if you have only one address. You can add another address and make it your primary location, or update your filing location, at any time.
  • You can remove a work location from dropdown lists in payroll by marking it as inactive. You can also reinstate inactive work locations if needed.
  • You can't:
    • Edit, inactivate or delete a work location if it's set as your primary location. You must first set up a new primary location before making these changes.
    • Edit or delete a work location if it’s assigned to an employee. You must first switch your employee to a new primary location before making these changes.
    • Edit or delete a work location if it has already appeared as a primary location in a pay run. Instead, mark the location as inactive.

Switch your employee to a new primary work location

Add your new work location (if you haven’t already) before following these steps.
  1. In the Payroll menu, select Employees.
  2. Click an employee’s name to view their details.
  3. Select the Employment tab.
  4. Click Add Work Location.
  5. Select your employee’s new work location.
  6. Click the checkbox next to the new location to set it as the employee’s primary work location.

  7. Click Save.

Edit work locations and your tax filing address

  1. In the Settings menu, select Payroll Settings.
  2. Select the Work Locations tab.
  3. To make another address your primary location:
    • Add another work location if you haven't already.
    • Click the menu icon Image of the menu icon to the right of the address you want to set as the primary location.
    • Select Set as primary.
  4. To edit your filing location:
    • Click the menu icon Image of the menu icon to the right of your filing location.
    • Select Edit.
    • Make your changes, and click Save.

Mark a work location as inactive or active

To mark a work location as inactive:

  1. In the Settings menu, select Payroll Settings.
  2. Select the Work Locations tab.
  3. Click the menu icon Image of the menu icon to the right of the address you want to inactivate.
  4. Select Mark as Inactive.
  5. Click Inactivate.
By marking a work location as inactive, you won't remove it from an employee's employment tab. Inactive work locations also remain in applicable payroll reports.

To view and reinstate an inactive work location:

  1. In the Settings menu, select Payroll Settings.
  2. Select the Work Locations tab.
  3. Click Show inactivated items.
  4. Click the menu icon Image of the menu icon to the right of the inactive address you want to reinstate.
  5. Select Mark as Active.
  6. Click Activate.

Delete a work location

  1. In the Settings menu, click Payroll Settings.
  2. Click the Work Locations tab.
  3. Click the menu icon Image of the menu icon to the right of the address you want to delete.
  4. Select Delete. If the work location is in use, you won’t see the Delete option.
  5. Click Confirm.

You might also be interested in