View history and notes for individual transactions and inventory items

View the changes made by all users to your invoices, bills, transactions, inventory items, and payment services. This audit trail also shows any notes recorded against your organization's transactions. You can't edit or delete transaction history and notes.

Where do history & notes display?

History & notes are displayed at the bottom of the screen for:

  • Sales invoices and bills (any status for both individual and automatically generated invoices and bills)
  • Credit notes
  • Quotes
  • Purchase orders
  • Repeating invoice or bill schedules
  • All transactions (payments against invoices, bills, cash refunds, spend and receive money transactions and transfers)
  • Expense claims and each receipt on an expense claim
  • Inventory items
  • Payment services

History & notes are not:

  • Displayed for reports.
  • Printed on PDF invoices, bills, quotes, statements, credit notes, receipts, remittance advices, prepayments or purchase orders.

If you’d like to create text to specifically print on your:

What is displayed in history & notes?

All system actions (including creating a note) are captured and displayed in the history for sales invoices, bills, credit notes, quotes, purchase orders, repeating invoice or bill schedules, expense claims, bank transactions (including payments), fixed assets, inventory items, and payment services. You can show or hide history and notes as required.

The user name Xero records against each action or note is that of the user logged on at the time or ‘System Generated’ if the invoice is an online invoice, an automatically generated repeating invoice or bill or invoice or bill that was received from Xero to Xero.

History events shown for all invoices, bills & transactions

The following actions that occur for a transaction, invoice or bill are automatically recorded with the user name and timestamp:

  • Accepted – when a quote is accepted.
  • Approved – when an invoice, bill or individual receipt on an expense claim is approved
  • Authorized – when an expense claim is authorized.
  • Cash Refunded – shown on a credit note when a cash refund is applied to the credit note.
  • Created – when an invoice, bill, quote, credit note, transaction or inventory item is first entered and saved.
  • Credit note sent – when the credit note is printed as a PDF or emailed and you choose the 'Mark as sent' option; if you remove the 'sent' status from the credit note this will be recorded as well.
  • Credit Reversed – shown on an invoice or bill when a credit note currently allocated to it is voided and therefore reversed off the invoice or bill.
  • Credited – shown on an invoice or bill when a credit note is added to it, or credit from another credit note is allocated to it.
  • Declined – when a quote or an individual receipt on an expense claim is declined.
  • Deleted – when the invoice or bill, or payment for one is deleted.
  • Edited – when an invoice, bill, transaction or inventory item is edited.
  • Export – shown when you have exported a batch payment file.
  • File uploaded – when a file attachment is uploaded to the bill or expense claim.
  • Invoice sent – when the invoice is printed as a PDF or emailed and you choose the 'Mark as sent' option; if you remove the 'sent' status from the invoice this will be recorded as well.
  • Invoice, quote or credit note viewed – each time you mark an item as sent, Xero records the first time someone views the invoice, quote, credit note or prepayment online. This could be you or anyone who has the online invoice, quote, credit note or prepayment link.
  • Invoiced – when a quote is invoiced, or marked as invoiced.
  • Message – if a customer has sent an email direct from an online invoice, credit note or prepayment.
  • Note – when added to transaction, invoice or bill.
  • Paid – when payment is entered for the invoice, bill or expense claim (either by you on the invoice or bill, or during reconciliation).
  • Partial Payment – when partial payment is entered for the invoice, bill or expense claim (either by you on the invoice or bill, or during reconciliation).
  • Payment processed - when an invoice is paid online through a payment service.
  • Recoded – when one or more lines on the invoice, bill, credit note, expense claim or transaction are recoded by an Advisor. Displays details about the item prior to recoding. Provides a link to a summary of items and other transactions recoded along with the selected transaction.
  • Reconciled – when the transaction  is reconciled (recorded on the invoice or bill payment, not the invoice or bill itself).
  • Sent – when an invoice, bill, quote or credit note is sent.
  • Submitted – when an invoice, bill or expense claim is submitted for approval.
  • Transaction Fee - when an online invoice is paid and a spend money transaction is automatically created for the payment service transaction fee.
  • Transaction fee reimbursed - when an online invoice is paid and a receive money transaction is automatically created for the payment service transaction fee reimbursement.
  • Unreconciled – when the transaction is unreconciled (recorded on the invoice or bill payment, not the invoice or bill itself).
  • Voided – when the invoice, bill, credit note or expense claim is voided.

History events shown for fixed assets

The following actions that occur for fixed assets are automatically recorded with the user name and timestamp:

  • Created – when the asset is first entered and saved, either from a transaction in Xero, by adding a new asset, or by importing the fixed asset item.
  • Depreciation – the amount depreciated on an asset at that date, or any depreciation reversals.
  • Disposal reversed – when the Depreciation Date or the Fixed Asset Start Date is rolled back and the disposal or sale of Sold & Disposed Items are reversed for the period. There will be a link to disposal journal.
  • Disposed – when a Registered Item is Sold or Disposed. There will be a link to the disposal journal.
  • Edit – any change made to the fixed asset item.
  • Registered – when an asset item has depreciation method and rates applied by someone with the Advisor user role. If the asset was created automatically in Xero there will be a link to the original transaction.
  • Rollback – when the Depreciation Date or the Fixed Asset Start Date is rolled back and journals are reversed for the period.

History events shown for inventory items

The following actions are automatically recorded with the user name and time stamp:

  • Created – when an inventory item is first entered and saved.
  • Edited – when an inventory item is edited.

History events shown for invoice reminders

The following actions are automatically recorded with the user name and time stamp:

  • Reminders turned on / off – when reminders are turned on or off for the invoice.
  • Reminder added / edited / deleted – when a reminder is added, edited or deleted.
  • Options turned on / off – when an option for including a link to the PDF invoice or excluding reminders for invoices under a minimum amount is turned on or off.
  • Option changed – when a change is made to the amount for the option for excluding reminders for invoices under a minimum amount.

History events shown for payment services

The following actions are automatically recorded with the user name and time stamp:

  • Created – when a payment service is first added and saved.
  • Edited – when payment service details are updated.
  • Note – when a note is added.
  • Removed – when a payment service is removed.

Add notes to transactions

Add a note during the creation of an invoice, bill, spend or receive money transaction, inventory item, or at any time after the item has been created. You can also add notes to transfers, payments, receipts, expense claims, quotes and purchase orders, and on the payment services screen.

  • Click Add Note to open the notes field.
  • Enter up to 250 characters.
  • The note will be displayed in history & notes showing the date of creation and the user that created it.
  • A note is automatically added to a bank transaction if you enter a comment against the item during bank reconciliation when the item is reconciled.
  • The note will be saved as a history item.