Cancel a Xero subscription

If you're the subscriber a Xero subscription, you can cancel the subscription with one month's advance notice. We'll send you a final invoice for the period up to the date that your notice period ends. You can still use Xero as normal during the notice period so make sure everything’s in order before your subscription ends. You should export your data out of Xero before the notice period ends.

When you cancel a subscription, we archive your organization's data.

To cancel a Xero subscription:

  1. Either:
    • From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.
    • In the Settings menu, select General Settings. Click Subscription, then click Manage Subscription.
  2. Find the organization whose subscription you want to cancel, then click Info.

    Image of the My Xero screen's Info link.

  3. Click Options, then select Cancel subscription.

    Image of the subscription options with 'Cancel subscription' selected.

  4. Click Confirm cancelation.
  5. Select the reason for canceling, then click Send feedback.

Your subscription will have a pending cancelation status for one month, for example if you cancel your subscription on 4 July 2017, the notice period will end on 4 August 2017.

You can stop the cancelation process anytime during the notice period by clicking the Info link in My Xero, then selecting Stop Cancelation.

Effects of canceling a subscription

You'll receive an invoice for the canceled subscription

We'll send you a final invoice after the notice period ends and the subscription is canceled. If you have other subscriptions on the same billing account, we'll include the final charges for the canceled subscription on your next subscription invoice.

You'll have no access to your organization once the subscription is canceled

We recommend you export your data out of Xero before to the end of the notice period.

Your Xero login stays active

Once your subscription is canceled, you can still login to Xero to use the demo organization, or add an organization.

If you want to cancel your login, contact Xero Support. Canceling your login removes your access to Xero, including all organizations where you are a user. You also won't be able to reactivate your account. You will still be able to view online invoices sent to you from other organizations in Xero.

You can reactivate your subscription

If you want to reactivate your subscription or to get access to your organization's data again, contact Xero Support.

Other subscriptions on same billing account continue same billing cycle

If you have other subscriptions on the same billing account, we'll continue to bill you for these, on the same cycle.