Release notes: updates to Xero on March 24, 2015
Here's a summary of what we've released:
- New and improved inventory
- Online quotes
- Report templates (NZ partners only)
- Side-by-side file attachments
- Unmerge contacts
- Email file attachments with invoices
- Notification pop-ups
- Check numbers displaying in bank reconciliation
- Lock date naming made clearer
- Partners able to create trial business organizations from My Xero
Inventory now tracks the quantity and value of the products you buy and sell. Inventory accounting is done for you - your Balance Sheet is automatically updated and your cost of goods sold is automatically calculated. Always know how much product you have on hand and how profitable your products are.
To start tracking your inventory items, you'll first need to set up your items and enter inventory opening balances.
Now you can send your customer a link of your real-time quote. They can view and accept the quote in their web browser. Your customer can also see any file attachments you've included with your online quote.
More flexible than report packs, the new report templates make it much easier to customize reporting across your practice and at the client level. While you're setting up the new report templates, you can still use your existing report packs.
New 'Edit report templates' permission
Along with the new report templates, we've released a new staff permission, 'Edit report templates'. As this permission level is switched off by default, the person with the Principal permission level will need to give 'Edit report templates' permission to each staff member who needs it.
Reporting name change to the chart of accounts
For partners using report templates, a new field for 'reporting name' has been added to the account edit screen in the chart of accounts. This allows you to name an account in a report differently from what it's called in the chart of accounts.
You can now view an uploaded file attachment alongside something else in Xero. For example, you can view the photo of a bill you've uploaded while you enter the details into Xero.
If you merged contacts in error, or want to separate them at a later date for any reason, you can now unmerge contacts.
You can now attach a file when you email invoices to customers.
New notifications now pop up in the top right corner of Xero for a few seconds, to alert you to important information. You also have the option of turning off pop-up notifications using the settings menu in the notifications drop-down.
To save extra clicking, if a check number is present when you're reconciling your bank account, it will show on both your bank statement and the Xero transaction side.
If you have the Advisor user role, next time you set a lock date you'll notice we've tweaked the fields. You'll now have a choice to set lock dates for all user roles, or all user roles except Advisor.
Partners can now create a trial Business Edition organization from My Xero. The trial will appear in your My Xero client dashboard for tracking purposes.