Projects access

If you have Manage Users permissions you can give or remove Projects access to a user you have already invited to your organisation.

About Projects access

What a Projects User can see and do depends on their user role.

  • Projects access only - Will only see the Projects and Reports tabs when they log into Xero. Can use all Projects-related features within Projects itself, such as viewing project overviews and time entries, but not in other areas of Xero, such as assigning a bill to a project. They’ll only be able to run Projects reports.
  • Invoice Only + Projects - Can use all Projects features. They can run Projects reports, but not non-Projects reports. What they can do on an invoice created from a Projects depends on their level of access to invoices.
  • Read Only + Projects - Can use all Projects features and run Projects reports. Can't edit or approve invoices, or run non-Projects reports.
  • Standard + Projects - Can use all Projects features. If you're Standard + No Reports user they can only run Projects reports.
  • Advisor + Projects - Can use all Projects features and have full access to invoices and reports.

Give someone Projects access

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Under Organisation, select Users.
  3. Click on a user.
  4. Select Projects User.
  5. Click Save.

Remove Projects access

To remove Projects access for a user, deselect the Projects User role that is selected for them. The user will no longer see the Projects tab in Xero, or have access to Projects reports.