Payroll admin user role

A user with the Payroll admin user role has full payroll access. They can manage employee details, payroll settings, complete pay runs and run payroll reports.

The subscriber of the organisation has the Payroll admin role by default.

Who can give or remove the Payroll admin role?

  • The subscriber of the organisation
  • A user with both the Payroll admin user role, and Manage users permission

Users with Manage users permission but not the Payroll admin role can delete a user who has Payroll admin access, but can't add or remove the Payroll admin role.

Settings user role comparison

Give the Payroll admin role to an existing user

You can give the Payroll admin role to any existing user who has either:

  • The Standard or Adviser role
  • The Payroll employee role

To give a user the Payroll admin role:

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Click Users, then click the user's name. Their existing role and permissions are shown.
  3. Under Payroll select the Payroll admin checkbox.
  4. Click Save.

Invite a new user with the Payroll admin role

  1. In the Settings menu, select General Settings.
  2. Click Users, then click Invite a User.
  3. Select the Payroll admin checkbox.
  4. Select any other roles and permissions the user needs.
  5. Click Send invite.

Remove the Payroll admin role

If you clear the Payroll admin checkbox, the user can view some payroll totals in reports or Accounts Payable (if their role allows it), but they can't access any payroll information or functions.

If you clear the Payroll admin checkbox for all users, any existing payroll data such as payroll reports are kept, but no users in the organisation can view them. If you reinstate the Payroll admin role for a user, they'll be able to see the old payroll data again.