Read Only role

Users with the Read Only role have access to viewing most areas of Xero but cannot edit or add any information. This role is suitable for anybody who needs to view information but doesn't need to input or edit anything.

Dashboard

A Read Only user's dashboard gives them a snapshot of all financial data. There are no buttons to add bills or sales invoices, expense claims or manage bank accounts.

Accounts

A Read Only user has read-only access to:

  • Bank accounts
  • Bills
  • Purchase orders
  • Sales invoices
  • Quotes
  • Credit notes
  • Expense claims
  • Fixed assets

Read Only users can't:

  • Add new bills, sales invoices, quotes, credit notes or purchase orders
  • Generate statements
  • Import bills or invoices

Reports

A Read Only user can:

  • View and print reports under the Reports tab (including those with foreign currencies)
  • View management reports created by someone with the Adviser user role (draft, published or archived)
  • View and print manual journals via the Journal Report

A Read Only user can't:

  • Publish reports
  • Add notes to reports
  • Generate their own management reports

Reports and budget role comparison

Contacts

A Read Only user can view:

  • All contacts
  • Contact's payment history
  • Outstanding sales invoice or bills reports

Read Only users can't make changes to contacts, or send statements.

Fixed Assets

A Read Only user can view:

  • Draft, registered and disposed assets
  • All fixed assets and depreciation reports

Access limitations

A Read Only user has no access to:

  • Bank reconciliation
  • Inventory (including new inventory reports)
  • Budgets
  • Any settings (including users, chart of accounts and conversion balances)
  • A Xero organisation during setup

A Read Only user can be invited during the setup process but the email invitation won't be sent to them until the process is complete.