Add and manage practice staff, administrators and consultants in Xero

Invite users into your Xero practice and manage their level of access.

You need Practice Administrator or Principal permissions to add staff to your practice and manage their permissions.

Add users to your practice

There are three permission levels that can be selected for practice users.

  • Practice Administrators can add, edit and remove practice users, and add new client organisations. They can edit practice settings and manage user access to client organisations and billing accounts.
  • Staff Members can add new client organisations and be given limited access to billing accounts. They can't add or edit other practice users, and have no access to practice settings.
  • Consultants have very limited permissions. Use the Consultant role when the user is not a member of your practice, but needs access to client organisations (eg an external contractor). They can be given access to client organisations but they can't add new client organisations or be given billing access.

Any Xero certification held by a consultant does not count towards your practice's Xero partner status.

A user added as a consultant can't be changed to a staff member or practice administrator. They will need to be removed and re-invited with the correct permission level.

Invite a user into your practice

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Click the Staff tab.
  3. Click Invite a User.
  4. Enter the user's name and email address. This is the email address the invitation will be sent to, and the user will log into Xero with.
  5. Under Permission select Practice Administrator, Staff Member or Consultant.
  6. Select Edit Report Templates if the user needs the ability to edit report templates at practice level.
  7. Select a Position for the user. This is for your practice's records, and has no effect on what the user can access in Xero.

  8. Click Send Invite.

Image showing user details.

Invited users will show as pending in the staff tab until they accept the invitation, when their status will change to active.

Invitations expire after 14 days but can be resent. To resend an invitation click the user's name then click Resend Invite.

Edit a user

Practice administrators and principals can edit a user's permission level and access to client organisations. Only users themselves can edit their name, phone number or email.

You can't change a user's permission to or from Consultant. You'll need to remove the user, then re-invite them with the new permission level.

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Select the Staff tab.
  3. Click the user's name.
  4. Change the user's Permission, Position or report templates access.
  5. Click the [number of] organisations link to change which organisations the user has access to.
  6. Click Save.

Remove a user from your practice

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Click the Staff tab.
  3. Click on the user's name.
  4. Click Remove From Practice.
  5. Click Remove Staff to confirm.

Removing a user from your practice also removes their access to organisations they were added to from the Staff tab.

It doesn't remove their access to organisations they were invited into from the Users page of the organisation. Access given from the organisation will also need to be removed there.