Delete or void a sales invoice

You can delete a draft or awaiting approval invoice but if the invoice is awaiting payment or paid, you'll need to void it. You can still view deleted and voided invoices, and they're listed in some of your reports.

Your user role determines if you can delete or void invoices. If the invoice was already sent to the customer, speak to your accountant or bookkeeper.

Delete a draft or awaiting approval invoice

You can reuse the invoice number from a deleted invoice on a new one. Both the deleted and new invoices show the same number.

  1. Find and open your draft or awaiting approval invoice. Use search if you know the contact's name or invoice amount.
  2. Click Invoice Options, then select Delete.

    Image of the delete invoice option.

  3. Click Yes to confirm.

Another way to delete an invoice is by selecting the invoice checkbox on the Draft or Awaiting Approval tab, and clicking Delete.

Void an awaiting payment or paid invoice

You'll need to remove any payments applied to the invoice first, including credit notes, prepayments or overpayments.

  1. Find and open your awaiting payment or paid invoice. Use search if you know the contact's name, or invoice amount.

    If you want to reuse the invoice number on a new invoice, you'll need to change the number before voiding the invoice.

  2. Remove any payments, credit notes, prepayments and overpayments:
  3. (Optional) If you've deleted a prepayment or overpayment, open the invoice again.
  4. Click Invoice Options, then select Void.

    Image of the void invoice option.

  5. Click OK to confirm.
If the invoice has a date that's before your conversion date, you might need to update your conversion balances.

You might also be interested in