Use client notes in Xero HQ

Use notes to record additional information about a client in Xero HQ.

Working with notes

You can add a note to a client. To make sure a note is seen, pin it to the top of the list of notes. Otherwise, notes are listed in the order you last edited them.

Create a note

  1. Go to Clients, and select a client from the list.
  2. Select the Notes tab and click Add a note.
  3. Enter the text of the note.
  4. (Optional) Click Add tags and select one or more tags.
  5. Click Save.

Update or remove a note

  1. Go to Clients, and select a client from the list.
  2. Select the Notes tab and find the note you want to change.
  3. Click the overflow menu icon Xero HQ overflow menu icon and then click:
    • Pin note to pin the note to the top of the list
    • Unpin note to unpin the note from the top of the list
    • Edit to change the text or add tags to the note
    • Archive to remove the note from the list
Archived notes are not deleted permanently. Instead, they are moved to the Archived notes heading under the Show menu.

Restore an archived note

  1. Go to Clients, and select a client from the list.
  2. Select the Notes tab and click the arrow to the right of Show.
  3. Select Archived notes to see a list of archived notes.
  4. Click the overflow menu icon Xero HQ overflow menu icon and then click Restore.