Staff Member and Consultant permissions
Use Staff Member and Consultant permissions for users who don't need full access to your practice.
Give a user the Staff Member permission if they're a member of your practice, but they don't need administrative access to My Xero.
A Staff Member can see all the organisations they have access to on their My Xero screen or the client list in Xero HQ. They can't see other organisations in the practice that they haven't been given access to.
The Consultant role can be given to users who are not staff members of a practice, but who need access to some of the organisations in the practice. For example, a contractor who works part time for your practice and part time for another practice which uses Xero.
Users who have the Consultant role can see organisations they have access to in their My Xero screen and the client list in Xero HQ. They can't see other organisations in the practice that they haven't been given access to.
The Principal or Practice Administrator can't view any organisations outside your practice that the Consultant has access to from another practice.
You can't change a Consultant's user role. You need to remove them from the practice and invite them again with a new role if you need to change their permissions.
Give someone Staff Member or Consultant permissions
To set up a new user with Staff Member or Consultant permissions, the Principal or a Practice Administrator will need to invite the user into the practice.