Subscription transfers

The subscriber for your Xero organisation is the only person who can transfer a subscription. The new subscriber will need to accept the transfer, they will then become responsible for the monthly subscription payments to Xero.

How it works

The current subscriber

  • The subscriber can transfer the subscriber role from a trial organisation or from a paid organisation (as long as the subscription payments are up-to-date). The role can be transferred to anyone and the new subscriber can be a new Xero user.
  • The current subscriber will receive a confirmation email when the transfer is complete, or if the invited subscriber logs in and declines the transfer.
  • The existing user role and permissions will stay the same for the current subscriber, unless this is changed by the new subscriber

The new subscriber

  • Will need to click the link in the email they receive from Xero and accept the transfer.
  • Can change the pricing plan for a paying organisation when accepting the transfer. The subscription for a trial organisation can only be transferred as a trial, but it can be upgraded once the transfer is complete.
  • Must set up billing details to complete the transfer (if it's a paid organisation, not a trial).
  • Will have the Standard user role with Manage Users permission.
If you'd like to transfer a considerable number of organisations, contact us and we'll let you know what you need to do. Use the Contact Xero Support button at the end of this Help page.