Change billing details in My Xero Partner Edition

Once you've added a Xero organisation, chosen a pricing plan and confirmed your billing details, you have a Xero billing account. You can see all the billing accounts your practice has on the Subscriptions & Billing tab in My Xero. You can also see which organisations belong to each account, and which staff in your practice have access to each account.

View your existing billing accounts

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Click the Subscriptions & Billing tab to see:
    • All the billing accounts your practice has
    • The organisations that belong to each billing account
  3. If you have Practice Administrator or Principal permissions, click [n] Staff to see which staff have access to the billing account.

    Image showing the Billing & Subs screen and practice staff acces to billing plans.

Add an organisation to a Partner or Business Edition billing account

Billing tab

Single Partner Edition billing account

When you complete billing details for your first Partner Edition organisation, this becomes your single Partner Edition billing account that all other Partner Edition organisations will be added to.

Choice for Business Edition organisations

When you add an organisation to a Business pricing plan, you can keep them all on the same billing account or create a separate one each time. If you add organisations belonging to different countries you will have to set up a billing account for each one - overall subscription amounts for each plan will be shown in the relevant currency.

Clients or staff can have their own billing accounts

If your clients or other staff in your practice have set up their own Business Edition organisations, you won't see those on your Subscriptions & Billing tab.

Change which billing account an organisation is on

You might want to bill a certain client separately from others, or you might want to move an organisation into a different billing account group. To do this, you need to be a Principal or a practice staff member with billing account access.

The Principal should create any new billing accounts to ensure they are part of the practice.

Practice staff with billing account access can't change the billing account details (for example, the debit or credit card number), but they can change which organisations belong to each billing account.

Change an organisation's billing account

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Find the organisation you want and click its Info link.

    Image of the My Xero screen's Info link.

  3. Click Options, then select Change billing account.

    Image of the subscription options with 'Change billing account' selected.

  4. Either:

    • Click Switch to this account to add the organisation to an existing billing account.
    • Enter new billing contact details, click Continue, then enter payment details to create a new billing account.
You can also access the subscription options by clicking Xero Subscription in your General Settings, then clicking Manage in My Xero to show them in a new browser window.

Edit billing account details

Update contact or payment details for a billing account, including the , direct debit information, and payment method. The details are updated for all organisations covered by the billing account.

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Click the Subscriptions & Billing tab.

    Billing tab

  3. Click Edit billing account for the account you want to change the billing account details.

  4. Click Show to view the organisations covered by the billing account.

    Image showing the Billing Sumary screen and the Show link.

  5. (Optional) Under Billing Contact, click Edit and update the email or contact details.

  6. (Optional) Under Payment Details, click Edit and update the payment method, direct debit information, or.

  7. Click Confirm.

Cancel a client's subscription

When you cancel a client's subscription, it's removed from the billing account it belongs to. Your practice is still billed for other subscriptions remaining on the account.

See the effects that cancelling a subscription has on the organisation data and the final invoice before you cancel it.

  1. From the header, click the list icon Image showing the list icon, then select My Xero.

  2. Find the organisation you want and click its Info link.

    Image of the My Xero screen's Info link.

  3. Click Options, then select Cancel subscription.

    Image of the subscription options with 'Cancel subscription' selected.

  4. Click Confirm cancellation.

  5. Select the reason for cancelling, then click Send feedback.

If you want to delete a billing account from your subscription, contact us using the Contact Xero Support button at the bottom of this Help page.