Delete or void a credit note

You can delete a draft or awaiting approval credit note but if the credit note is awaiting payment or paid, you'll need to void it. You can still view deleted and voided credit notes, and they're listed in some of your reports.

Your user role determines if you can delete or void credit notes. If a customer credit note was already sent, speak to your accountant or bookkeeper before editing.

Delete a draft or awaiting approval credit note

You can reuse the credit note number from a deleted customer credit note on a new one. Both the deleted and new credit notes show the same number.

  1. Find and open your draft or awaiting approval credit note. Use search if you know the contact's name or credit note amount.
  2. Click Credit Note Options, then select Delete.

    Image of the Delete credit note option.

  3. Click Yes to confirm.

Another way to delete a credit note is by selecting the credit note checkbox on the Draft or Awaiting Approval tab, and clicking Delete.

Void an awaiting payment or paid credit note

  1. Find and open your awaiting payment or paid credit note. Use search if you know the contact's name, or credit note amount.

    If you want to reuse the credit note number on a new credit note, you'll need to change the number before voiding the credit note.

  2. Remove any payments and refunds:
  3. (Optional) If you've removed a refund, open the credit note again.
  4. Click Credit Note Options then select Void.

    Image of the Void credit note option.

  5. Click OK to confirm.