Set up and manage practice staff in Xero HQ

Manage your staff in Xero HQ to ensure that your staff have access to clients they need to perform their role effectively. Customise how much access a staff member has to each of your clients, with the Xero organisation rights that you choose, as well as their role within your practice in Xero HQ.

You need to have the Administrator or Master administrator Xero HQ user role to add staff to your practice, change their user role, or edit their permissions.

How it works

  • Invite people into your practice, assign them a user role, and give them permissions for working with clients.
  • When you add an Administrator they have access to all of your existing clients as an Adviser. However, when you create a new client, you need to add staff to the client manually.
  • If you add someone in Xero Partner Edition with Consultant permissions, they appear in Xero HQ with the Standard (Consultant) role.

Invite staff into your practice

  1. Go to Staff and click Invite staff.
  2. Enter the staff member's name and email address, and then click Next.
  3. Select the staff member's Xero HQ user role.
  4. (Optional) Give the staff member permission to edit report templates.
  5. Click Invite to Xero HQ.

Change a staff member's Xero HQ user role

You can't change a staff member from a Standard (Consultant) role to any other role. You'll need to remove the staff member from your practice and invite them in again with the new role.

To change a staff member's Xero HQ user role from the staff list:

  1. Go to Staff and click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon for the staff member you want to change, then select Edit role.
  2. Select the staff member's new user role.
  3. (Optional) Change the staff member permission to edit report templates.
  4. Click Update.

To change a staff member's Xero HQ user role while viewing their details:

  1. Go to Staff and click the name of the staff member you want to change.
  2. In the staff details card on the right of the screen, click Edit.
  3. Select the staff member's new user role.
  4. (Optional) Change the staff member permission to edit report templates.
  5. Click Update.

Remove a staff member from your practice

When you remove a staff member from your practice, they no longer have access to your Xero practice. They're also removed from any client organisations you've assigned them to, or the client has invited them into, if your practice manages the subscription for the client.

To remove a staff member from the staff list:

  1. Go to Staff and click the menu icon Xero HQ menu icon for the staff member you want to remove, then select Remove from practice.
  2. Click Yes I'm sure.

To remove a staff member while viewing their details:

  1. Go to Staff and click the name of the staff member you want to remove.
  2. In the staff details card on the right of the screen, click Edit.
  3. Click Remove from practice.
  4. Click Yes I'm sure.

You might also be interested in