Ask in Xero HQ
Learn more about using Ask in Xero HQ to create, edit, view, and track queries. Discover what your client sees when you send them a query. See how user roles work with Ask.
How it works
- Send queries to any client in your Client list.
- A query can contain any number of questions of different types. Group questions together in sections and order the questions however you like within and between sections.
- When your client answers a question, Ask locks the question. This means you can't make changes to it. However, you can edit any unanswered questions and add questions to a query at any time.
- Resend a query to different contacts for the same client. Copy a query and edit the details to send the query to another client.
- Close a query, even if all of the questions haven’t been answered. Reopen a closed query to work with it again.
- Ask saves queries automatically while you are working with them.
The query list
The query list gives you an overview of your queries.
Each entry shows you:
- The name of the client
- The query name
- The due date, financial period, and the date the query was created or last sent to the client
- A progress indicator representing how many questions have been answered
- If you have the Administrator or Master administrator Xero HQ user role, you can also see who created the query
- Change the query details
- Add or reorder questions
- Change unanswered questions
- Send a reminder
- Copy the query
- Close the query
What your client sees
Ask sends a link to your query to the email address you enter. If your client has a Xero login and you send the query to their login email, then all they need to do is click the link. Otherwise, Ask will prompt them for their name and phone number, and have them create a password.
Once your client has signed in, they can start answering the questions. They can stop at any time. Ask saves their answers automatically so they can come back later to finish up.
Your client can submit any number of answers whenever they like. You’ll get an email notification when they do, and you’ll see a Submitted tag on the entry in the query list.
Closing a query locks it. Your client can see the questions and their answers, but they won’t be able to change anything unless you reopen the query.
User roles in Ask
Everyone in your practice can use Ask regardless of their user role. Administrator and Master administrator users can see and work with all queries for all clients. Standard and Standard (Consultant) users can only create queries for the clients they’re assigned to and only have access to the queries they’ve created.