Change login email address

Change the email address you use to log in to Xero. Your new email address must be one that isn't already used by another Xero user.

Log in to Xero and change your email address

  1. Go to [Your Name], then click Account.

    Image showing selection of Account on the menu under a user's profile card below their user name in Xero.

  2. Alongside Email, click Edit to expand the section.
  3. Enter your new email address, your login password, and click Change Email.
  4. Click OK on the Email Confirmation screen. Your change displays as pending until you confirm it.

    Image showing email address displaying as pending confirmation.

  5. Log in to the email account to which you just changed your Xero email address.
  6. Open the email from Xero.
  7. Click the confirmation link to confirm the change.

You can now log in to Xero using your new email login. If you're the subscriber with a billing account under the old email address, we've updated that address too.

Cancel your email address change

If your email address change is still pending in Xero you can cancel it to continue using your existing email address.

  1. Go to [Your Name], then click Account.

    Image showing selection of Account on the menu under a user's profile card below their user name in Xero.

  2. Click Cancel.

    Image showing user clicking the Cancel link.

Resend the email change confirmation link

Resend the confirmation link to your new email address if the change is still pending in Xero.

  1. Go to [Your Name], then click Account.

    Image showing selection of Account on the menu under a user's profile card below their user name in Xero.

  2. Click Resend Confirmation.

    Image showing user clicking Resend Confirmation.

Expired confirmation link - why and what to do

If you have clicked on the confirmation link in your email but the link has expired, it'll mean one of these events has happened:

  • The activation link is older than 10 days.
  • You've already changed your email.
  • You have already cancelled the email change.
  • The new email is already used by another account.

Resend the email change confirmation link if the activation link is too old.