Ask in Xero HQ
Learn more about using Ask in Xero HQ to create, edit, view, and track queries. Discover what your client sees when you send them a query. See how user roles work with Ask.
How it works
- Send queries to any client in your Client list.
- A query can contain any number of questions of different types. Group questions together in sections and order the questions however you like within and between sections.
- When your client answers a question, Ask locks the question. This means you can't make changes to it. However, you can edit any unanswered questions and add questions to a query at any time.
- Resend a query to different contacts for the same client. Copy a query and edit the details to send the query to another client.
- Close a query, even if all of the questions haven’t been answered. Reopen a closed query to work with it again.
- Ask saves queries automatically while you are working with them.
The query list
The query list gives you an overview of your queries.
Each entry shows you:
- The name of the client
- The query name
- The due date, financial period, and the date the query was created or last sent to the client
- A progress indicator representing how many questions have been answered
- If you have the Administrator or Master administrator Xero HQ user role, you can also see who created the query
You can sort the list by progress, due date, or the name of the client, in either ascending or descending order.
Your choices when you click the menu icon depend on the status of the query.
|Menu item||When||Lets you|
|Resend query||Query has already been sent||Resend query to client|
|Send query||Query is a draft and hasn't been sent||Send a query to a contact for answers|
|Add questions||Query has been completed by client and submitted||Add new questions to a submitted query|
|Add or edit questions||Query has been submitted by client, but not all questions have been answered||Add new questions or edit unanswered ones|
|Preview||Query is a draft||View a draft query|
|Edit query details||Query has been created||Edit details like client, query name, financial period and due date|
|Copy query||Query has been created||Copy sections and questions of a query and send to a different client|
|Delete query||Query is a draft||Delete a draft query|
|Close query||Query has been sent||Close a finished query and move it to Closed group|
|Go to client card||Query has been created||See the client associated with the query|
- Change the query details
- Add or reorder questions
- Preview a draft query
- Change unanswered questions
- Send a reminder
- Copy the query
- Close the query
What your client sees
Ask sends a link to your query to the email address you enter. If your client has a Xero login and you send the query to their login email, then all they need to do is click the link. Otherwise, Ask will prompt them for their name and phone number, and have them create a password.
Once your client has signed in, they can start answering the questions. They can stop at any time. Ask saves their answers automatically so they can come back later to finish up.
Your client can submit any number of answers whenever they like. You’ll get an email notification when they do, and you’ll see a Submitted tag on the entry in the query list.
Closing a query locks it. Your client can see the questions and their answers, but they won’t be able to change anything unless you reopen the query.
User roles in Ask
Everyone in your practice can use Ask regardless of their user role. Administrator and Master administrator users can see and work with all queries for all clients. Standard and Standard (Consultant) users can only create queries for the clients they’re assigned to and only have access to the queries they’ve created.