Close a project

Close a project once you have completed it, or if it's no longer needed. You can reopen it if you want to make any changes, or continue working on the project.

Projects is currently in development. Learn how to get early access to Projects (xero.com).

About closed projects

  • When you close a project it no longer shows on your list of in progress projects.
  • You can't assign or reassign a billable expense to a closed project.
  • You can add time or expenses to a closed project.
  • You can create an invoice from a closed project.

Close a project

  1. In the Projects menu, select Overview.

  2. Select In progress from the Project list dropdown.

    Image of in progress Projects dropdown menu.

  3. Find your project in the list, then either:

    • Click the menu icon Image of menu icon in Projects. on the row of the project you want to delete, then select Close project.

    • Open the project you want to delete, click the Settings icon, then select Close project.

      Image of close project option from settings menu in Projects.

Re-open a closed project

  1. In the Projects menu, select Overview.

  2. Select Closed from the Project list dropdown.

  3. Find your project in the list, then either:

    • Click the menu icon Image of menu icon in Projects. on the row of the project you want to re-open, then select Re-open project.
    • Open the project you want to re-open, click the Settings icon, then select Re-open project.

To give feedback about Projects, please use the blue chat window on each Projects page. For general support about using Projects, click Contact Xero Support at the bottom of this page.

You might also be interested in