Delete or archive a bank account

You can delete or archive a bank account, credit card account or PayPal account in your chart of accounts.

Your user role determines if you can delete or archive bank accounts.

Delete an account

If you haven't imported a statement or added transactions to a bank account, you can delete it.

  1. Go to Settings, then click General Settings.
  2. Under Reports, click Chart of Accounts.
  3. Select the checkbox next to the bank account you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click OK.

Archive an account

If you have transactions in a bank account that you no longer use, you can archive the account. Archived accounts can be restored at any time.

  1. Go to Settings, then click General Settings.
  2. Under Reports, click Chart of Accounts.
  3. Select the checkbox next to the bank account you want to archive.
  4. Click Archive.
  5. Click OK.