Delete or void a sales invoice

You can delete a draft or awaiting approval invoice, or void an awaiting payment invoice you haven't sent to the customer yet.

About deleting and voiding invoices

  • If you just want to correct an error on the invoice, and haven't sent it to your customer, edit the invoice instead of deleting or voiding it:

  • If you've sent the invoice to your customer, don't delete or void it. Issue a credit note if you need to make a correction, so there is an audit trail for you and your customer.
  • You can reuse the invoice number from a deleted invoice. Both the deleted and new invoices show the same number.
  • You can't reuse the invoice number from a voided invoice. If you want to reuse it, change the invoice number before voiding.
  • You can view deleted and voided invoices.

Delete a draft or awaiting approval invoice

  1. In the Accounts menu, click Sales.
  2. On the Draft or Awaiting Approval tab, select the check box of the invoice you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

    Image of the invoices list and Delete button.

Void an awaiting payment invoice

Void an Awaiting Payment invoice you haven't sent to your customer.

  1. Find and open your awaiting payment invoice.
  2. Click Invoice Options, then select Void.

    Image of the Void invoice option.

  3. Click OK to confirm.

You might also be interested in